Yesterday was weird

I found out that the job opportunity that seemed amazing and almost to good to be true, pretty much is. I got this position that was touted as customer service with some company I was unfamiliar with. When I went to the orientation, there are metal folding chairs and I find out they want me to do Kirby in-home demos. I finished out the day, they got me all pumped about how much money I would make and bonuses and vacations and all kinds of great stuff.

When I left, I went and conferred with my roomie who told me to be careful that he’d had a bad run in with a similar type of deal. My sweet hippie love had tagged along and after talking to this roomie he seemed to be thinking maybe this wasn’t such a great idea either.

At first I was kinda pissed, thought they were raining on my parade, thought that they were being closed minded and that I would be a fool to pass up this amazing opportunity and the chance to make all this money. Until…I started poking around and trying to find more information myself.

First off, I read a couple of horror stories online that sounded like a very similar beginning to my amazing new job opportunity, right down to the folding metal chairs and the super awesome and nice trainer guy and how pumped they get you to make all this money. Then I read about how it’s a scam and you don’t make the money they claim, how they more or less work you to death and then you don’t wind up with the paychecks you think you will be making or that they didn’t get paid and other horrific results.

At this point I didn’t know what to do. I felt like an idiot and I was more than a little disappointed. I ended up talking to my cousin on the phone, she lives here in town and has pretty much her whole life, she is from this area. I asked her about it and come to find out, her son had worked for this company before and she said she didn’t wanna burst my bubble and that she wasn’t saying it was an outright scam but that when he worked there more or less he busted his ass, made lots of sales, and did not end up getting the amount of money that he was led to believe that he would. She told me that overall it was a very unpleasant experience for him.

That was pretty much the verdict for me. I know my cousin is one of the sweetest ladies around and would not lie to me or mislead me. She is a very kind and loving person and did her best to give me an unbiased opinion. Needless to say, I didn’t call that guy back that night like we were asked to and I didn’t go in there for more training today like I was supposed to. Instead, I called/emailed back the burger joint that wanted to hire me from the get go. It may not be glamorous, but at least it’s honest work. And I know what they tell me I will be making, the hours they tell me I will have and the things they tell me I will be doing are pretty straight-forward and completely legit.

I think I was able to salvage that and no harm done. But damn what a disappointment. Not to mention the frustration involving more delays before I start receiving paychecks and get to working. Also, nobody likes to feel like a fool, or feel like they got played. Oh well, you live, you learn. Life throws curve-balls sometimes, and even when they hit you in the face…you have to move on and keep going.

So…hopefully all’s well that ends well.

I feel like life has really been trying to pound some lessons into me lately. Patience, humility, resourcefulness and other less intense things along with these. All things happen for a good reason, I firmly believe that. There are good things that we are meant to enjoy and then there are things that are not so good that we are meant to learn from. Lately I kinda feel like life has pointed at me, smacked me upside the face and said, “YOU! I’ve been meaning to teach you a few things here lately!”

I’ve learned a little about humility and having to rely upon others to help me out and to try and do what I can with what I have to help out the household I’m staying in. (regardless of whether I’m staying with my adorable hippie guy or at the besties)  I’ve also learned to make do with what is available to me even if it’s not my first choice. And I’ve learned to appreciate the resources that are available to me that I take for granted. Such as, walking somewhere on my own two feet which is good for my health and my spirit and also saves gas money and wear and tear on the car.

Overall, I must say, I am able to maintain a positive attitude. To know that I will be alright, and maybe even for the better despite any struggles I may endure in the now. After all, going through rough times in the end is likely to leave me a bit more polished I’d like to think.

My thoughts are a bit unclear and I’m losing focus because there are other things grabbing my attention. So, I’m out folks. But have a great weekend and remember, no matter what you are going through, there is a reason for it good or bad. And in the end it will be alright, just maintain a positive attitude and keep your head up. Love as much as possible and keep focusing on all the wonderful things that this beautiful and complicated world has to offer to every single one of us, every single day.

Namaste.

Leave a Reply

